The weekend before school started back, I raced a team race in Juarez with my buddy DJ and another El Paso rider, Avyell Lo.  Avyell has been getting fast and asked me to be on his team even though he had to have me recruit the other member.  DJ was fresh off the Breck Epic so I new we’d have fun no matter what.  I figured I’d give myself a bit of a handicap and decided to race the Ice Cream Truck 29+ Super Beast.  OMG!!!  That bike is so much fun.  It will ride over ANYTHING. Even better, this course had about a mile of SAND!!!!  Braaaap Braaaaaaaaap Braaaaaaappppp.  I passed so many riders in the sand, but had to wait on my teammates.  Oh well.  That was fun.

The course was about 25 miles long and consisted of a bunch of the Chupa trails and there are a lot of new sections.  Chupa is supposed to go over King Kong, a beast of a climb which I’m glad the team race didn’t

go over because hauling the ICT29+SB up that thing would have sucked.  Although, I probably could have pedaled it all considering how much MAD traction that bike has.

Our team finished 4th or 5th…depending on how you look at the results.  We had a blast and I got a good workout in taking good pulls and pushing DJ on some of the climbs.  I will definitely have to get down there again to ride King Kong before the Chupa.

It was overcast most of the morning.  Then it got after we finished.  Perfect timing.

It was overcast most of the morning. Then it got after we finished. Perfect timing.

Results.  You had to be with your team at all the check points.

Results. You had to be with your team at all the check points.

Avyell in the bottom left corner.

Avyell in the bottom left corner.

Pic stolen from Facebook.  I rode with no hands a bunch.  The ICT29+SB is ridiculously stable.

Pic stolen from Facebook. I rode with no hands a bunch. The ICT29+SB is ridiculously stable.

