I spent a few hours this afternoon installing some shelf brackets to add some organization to my sewing area.  I had some leftover wood from another project so that’s why the top shelves are kind of short.  I took out my thread stand and installed some small loops above the thread shelf to feed my thread off the top of the spools.  I organized my bobbin stash with some nails too.  I cleaned up the space to the right of the machine by removing this smock like pocket filled attachment I was using to stuff my spools into.  That didn’t work too well and seemed to take up more space than it should have.  Now I have a plastic bin thingy that holds a bunch of fabric and fabric rolls.  It’s got a little room to grow.

So that’s my work area for stuff that requires a walking foot which will include anything with more than 4 layers of cordura or things that require a walking foot.  A walking foot helps so much when trying to perform nice straight stitches on multiple layers of heavy fabric.  Too bad this machine has caused me so many problems.  I think I have everything worked out now.  When/if I earn all my money back from my expenditures (notice how I didn’t call this an investment) I’ll consider purchasing a servo motor.

Jen’s been hounding me to make Connor some nice diaper covers and we seem to be doing laundry a lot when we still have plenty of the thick absorbant liners stacked in the changing room.  I’m sure I could make some decent covers with the walking foot Pfaff 145, but I’ve always wanted a solid home machine that could do intricate work, zig zag, be reliable, have a table yet capable of being portable, and has some class and history as well.

I saw this Necchi Supernova on Craigslist about a month ago and finally called the guy so I could check it out.  I took too much money over there with me and I’m horrible at trying to score a bargain especially when something works exceptionally well.  I’m sure I paid too much for this machine, but since I got to try it out, I didn’t have to pay for shipping, and the thing is in incredible condition, I worked the guy down just a little from his asking price.  I had to work on the pedal a little, but if it goes you can get new/used ones for 5 or 6 bucks at yard sales.  First good one I see, I’m going to try to get it for no more than $5.  The lighting in the guy’s room wasn’t too good (damn cfs’s), and I really couldn’t tell what color or how much paint the table had.  He said he used spray paint…….and it looks like he used an entire can.  The table is really pretty despite the finish.  I figured that Jen wouldn’t complain if I told her she could keep a plant on top of it when it wasn’t in use. It sewed great putting in a beautiful zig zag pattern into some cordura and through 4 layers of dacron sailcloth.

Do a little research on the Supernova and the only other machine that might get more kudos is the model that came before it, the BU.  The Supernova uses cams to make decorative stitches.  My machine didn’t have a manual but I’ve tested some of the cams and they make some pretty neat patterns.  The cam that is installed in the picture above is a button holer.  I’m not sure exactly how it works, but it appears that you manually operate it to get the stitch you need to form the button hole.  My mom taught me how to use a zig zag machine to make button holes, so you really don’t need a button holer or a cam like this one to do the job, but if you’ve got 8 or 10 buttons to do on a shirt, then figuring out how to use something like this could save you a crap load of time and fabric turning.

I’m not sure if all the cams are here, but there are quite a few.  The box’s lid has an aluminum plate sandwiched in between the plastic with little windows cut out to show you all the different settings for a bunch of different cams/stitch patterns.  The lid has no hinges, bu the thing is probably over 60 years old as this machine came onto the scene in the 50’s.

Since this machine puts in such a great zig zag, I’ll use it to put in some “bar tack” type stuff on the heavier stuff, button hole style openings for things like camelbak hoses and battery wires, but mostly for light stuff like stuff sacks, diapers, and clothing alterations.  I can’t wait to put this thing to good use.  I ended up sewing through 6 layers of stretch denim!

Some of you are probably wondering, “What the hell is Wilson doing?  Is he going to ride any?”  Don’t worry people, I’ll get some good rides in this holiday.   I need to do some more gear testing and I’ve got some trail building planned as well.

