If you ride a bike regularly, especially on the road, you’ve undoubtedly come upon some treasures that you had to stop or make that quick turn around in order to secure your newfound booty.  I’d take a guess that about 1/4 of my tools were found on the road.  There is a lot of construction going on in El Paso which means there are lots of construction workers who tend to not be the smartest guys out there and they drink before work ends and load up their trucks without securing there stuff eventually strewing entire socket sets across the roads. 

While in Sun Valley this summer I found this little beauty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I didn’t think much of it.  Probably a $4 special from Harbor Freight or Big Lots.  Not big enough to trim the steerer on that new fork.  Maybe large enough to cut your bars down a bit.  I tossed it into the back of the truck with no intentions of touching it until we got back to El Paso and eventually clean out the beast.

About a week later we were enjoying an incredible camp spot in Vernal, UT.  Cool mountain air, a creek, some other kids around that Connor could play with, and some decent trails.  All of a sudden our water pump starts running.  Crap!  We have enough water for about 4 or 5 nights if we conserve.  The pump running and us not using any water is not conserving.  I turn off the pump and rush outside to see water dripping from a winterizing drain pipe. It’s cheap, stiff plastic and it’s cracked.  I take off the end cap and try to figure it all out.  There’s about a foot of pipe hanging down from the camper and the crack goes up about 3 or 4 inches.  Ah Ha!  I can trim it with my new hacksaw and reattach the endcap.  Well, the little saw that could took a while to get through the pipe, but I cut it clean and reinstalled the drain cap.  Good to go.

Best find of the summer.

