Well….the racing season finally started.  After a couple of low key endurance events, I officially kicked things off with a win at the NMORS#1, the Coyote Classic here in El Paso.  There was a record number of racers.  268!  100 Cat 1’s!  Unbelievable!  And I passed more than 75 of those cat 1’s.  Ridiculous.  Or as I say when it’s REALLY ridiculous….ricockulous. 

The Superfly100 was a beast today.  Despite the cracked lower swingarm and the missing set screws on my YESS tensioner, it rode amazingly well in the rock gardens and climbed like a antelope! 

I was sick all this past week and Jen was a trainwreck from a broken or displaced rib.  I didn’t ride Monday through Wednesday and Thursday’s ride sucked.  I was still coughing and blowing green shit out of my nose this morning on my warmup.  Smartly, I did a long warm-up by riding from the house to the venue.

Needless to say, I’m very pleased with the start of my season.  The Puzzler was a bit disappointing, but the bike didn’t fit and I used gears.  What in the world was I thinking??!!  I think I could have won SSUSA if I hadn’t lost my handup right after I got it.  To put things together as well as I did today, I’m pleased.  I won’t show my HR data as it’s way too impressive.  I’d have to say that today was one of my best races ever….performance wise.  Of course there were many national podiums that were more awesome, but my body’s performance today was exceptional.

As some of you know, I worked on a master’s in Ex Physiology for a while and I have never had my own coach.  I found this blog post by Heather Irmiger to be pretty interesting.  She has a degree in ex phys and isn’t down with the testing.  Pretty cool.  I like doing VO2Max tests, but they don’t really indicate much when in comes to mountain biking.  Skill is such a huge factor and strategy is also big.  Today I had a home court advantage.  I felt great, and I stayed skinny this winter.  I’m looking forward to a great summer!

