Wow!  Dawn to Dusk 2009 got cancelled.  We’re lucky to have made it out.  With 6″ of mud, I let out half the air in my front tires to aid in traction.  I left the rears at 70 hoping that the extra footprint of the dually and over 3,000 pounds of camper would give us the bite we needed to get the hell out of the biggest slop fest I’ve witnessed in a long time.

Here’s video of the exit from the venue.  There was a sweet line up and lots of people were out to witness the potential carnage.  Dually 4×4’s are sweet!

Exiting the Dawn to Dusk venue in Gallup from David Wilson on Vimeo.

I’ve raced some slop in my day.  I had the fastest amateur time at Snowshoe back in 2004 in axle deep mud.  I rode Pisgah and Nantahala before there were any guide books. So I love racing in the slop. But I’m glad I didn’t have to race in what could have been a shameful display of trail stewardship if the Dawn to Dusk had started.

Here’s Dave and Linda’s tent.

dave-and-lindas-tent

I sure hope they didn’t pay much for that thing.  Suprisingly our 10×10 withstood everything.  And of course, you can’t beat a lance camper.

This pic of these characters standing around in the mud really don’t do the scene much justice.

p4110103

And this is a gorgeous shot of the venue from above.  It looks really awesome!  But walking around in it was like walking on a hockey rink with heated steel shoes.

p4110108

Here’s the final snow storm we experienced on our way out.

Snow at Gallup Dawn to Dusk from David Wilson on Vimeo.

This is what we woke up to in the morning.  That’s Smokin’ Ray’s Winnebango next to Mike Mangan’s Funfinder XXX.

p4110100

Mike’s wondering how the hell anyone without 4 wheel drive will make it out.   It was so bad that when the shitter truck came to pump out the portos, he had to put on chains.  It was a dually 4×4.  He had troubles when empty, but once he was full of shit, he motored out just fine.

Oh well.  We were able to salvage the day with a ride in Socorro.  It was a bit windy, but it was sunny and the trails were dry.

