Whew.  Being a ubercaucasion makes living in the desert a daunting task.  My large surface area and fair skin make endurance activities feel like I’m the water boy hauling a couple of gallons of liquid life all over the parched land.  Luckily I have a few drops of Cherokee and even more drops of quality sunscreen to prevent me from becoming a crispy critter. 

The winters here provide excellent riding conditions with rarely a need for anything extra other than knee and arm warmers.  It’s these not quite fall/winter days that kill me.  But Sunday was a treat.  I guess some sort of hurricane pounded Mexico from the Pacific and sent rain our way.  It’s always special to see rain here!  The cloud cover was thick and kept temps mild if not slightly cool.  This provided excellent motivation to complete one of my favorite loops in the Franklins.

Click on this link to check out the pic:  http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u316/fastmtnbiker/FranklinMtn.Tour.jpg

The little loop on the left of the pic is behind my house.  I added it in to get a full 4 hours of riding….cause I was feeling the groove.  The view is from the northeast.  Franklin Mountain State Park covers most of the mountain range, but the park proper….the area with the trails that everyone knows about…. is in the upper right hand corner.

Me….well, I like to climb and descend.  The trails in the park don’t quite have the sustained climbs I need to be able to keep up with the fly weights at the races.  So I saddle up the 32 lb motolite with beefmaster tires and head out and up.  No flats, no mechanicals, and no sun!  What a great ride.  If anyone wants the gpx file for this ride, I’ll be happy to hook you up…though I still haven’t figured out how to do that yet.

And check out this pic of me that was on Rocky Mountain Flyer website:  http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u316/fastmtnbiker/OffTheRockparajito.jpg

 That magazine is super cool.  Someone get me a subscription!

